My Favorite Disney Songs

Like most kids growing up, I watched every Disney movie available (typically multiple times on endless repeat). In my heart, there’s a special place for Disney songs. A place where I can’t help but sing every memorized word aloud, perhaps even mimicking the acting from the film.

However, I do feel that my personal favorite Disney songs differ slightly from the favorites of others. So, I decided to compile a list of my top favorite Disney songs that make me warm and fuzzy every time I hear them.

Reflection – Mulan

Mulan is definitely my favorite Disney film in that I’ve always related to Mulan the most out of any Disney princess. While I love “I’ll Make a Man Out of You” just as much as every other Disney fan, there’s something a bit more special about Reflection for me. It really highlights Mulan’s unique personality and her inner struggle with trying to stay true to herself. It really moves me.

Strangers Like Me – Tarzan

I honestly can’t help but love this song, it’s so damn good. It’s also features the montage of Tarzan discovering how the world is much bigger than he originally thought, which I’ve always found really uplifting in a way. His look of fascination and Jane’s excitement at sharing it all with him is such a beautiful moment in Tarzan.

Colors of the Wind – Pocahontas

Like Mulan, Pocahontas is another Disney princess I absolutely adore and relate to. She’s kind, empathetic, and yet incredibly strong and determined. She also has this enchanting way about her as well that I feel is shown best in Colors of the Wind. It’s a hypnotizing track full of life and spirit that few Disney songs match in terms of spirit.

Under the Sea – The Little Mermaid

No, no, no… damn, it’s stuck in my head again. When I was little, I really enjoyed two films: Cinderella, and The Little Mermaid. Over time, I came to love The Little Mermaid just a bit more, as I thought Ariel was an oddball like me. Then you have Sebastian and his god damn “Unda Da Seaaaa!” Who doesn’t sing along to this masterpiece when it comes on?

When Somebody Loved Me – Toy Story 2

I’m not crying, you’re crying. Seriously though, who’s chopping onions around here? I don’t really like the Randy Newman tracks from the Toy Story series, even though it’s one of my favorite set of Pixar films. However, this track in particular is arguably one of the best from the films. You can really feel Jesse’s loss, confusion, and heartbreak.

Carl and Ellie’s Theme – UP

Sure, let’s torture myself a bit more courtesy of this gorgeous piano cover of Carl and Ellie’s theme from Pixar’s UP. Anyone who knows me knows that I both love and hate the intro to UP because of how strongly I relate to it. Even after seeing it dozens of times, it still makes me burst out into tears. One of the best intro scenes to any movie ever. Period.

Every Song From Mary Poppins

Every single track from Mary Poppins is my fave, and I’m definitely not exaggerating. Is there a more beautiful Disney leading lady than the magical Julie Andrews? Every song she sings in Mary Poppins is absolutely marvelous. I can honestly watch this movie hundreds of times and still be charmed by it.

Shiny – Moana

Let me be clear, I do love “How Far I’ll Go” as much as the next Disney fan… but… he’s just so SHINY. Definitely one of my favorite new villain tracks, and the way Tamatoa’s facial expressions match the song… it just amuses the crap (crab?) out of me.

God Help The Outcasts – The Hunchback of Notre Dame

This one definitely feels like one of the most mature Disney tracks. In fact, The Hunchback of Notre Dame really tackles a lot of mature themes that I didn’t really grasp or appreciate until I got a bit older. This song in particular is so haunting, every nuance of it just holds my attention and refuses to let go.

Friend Like Me – Aladdin

I can’t emphasize enough how much I miss Robin Williams. That man was such a major part of my childhood from movies like Flubber to Mrs. Doubtfire. And yes, to Aladdin, as the Genie was always my favorite character. I will forever miss Robin Williams and his untouchable spark.

Gaston – Beauty and the Beast

Even though I really don’t like Gaston as a character… I can’t help but also like Gaston in theory. If that makes sense? He’s just so arrogant and cocky, and it’s hard to resist singing along with this track and praising his name. Even if deep down I feel he’s a bit of a scumbag. “Noooo one’s nananananana GASTON!”

Ok, so obviously I could go on for ages with all of my favorite Disney tracks but I think you get the overall idea here. I like a lot of songs that may not be a Disney fan’s first picks, but hey, that’s the great thing about music and film. It’s all subjective!

I’m planning to do another list like this with some of my favorite scenes from Disney films, so if you have a particular favorite, let me know and I’ll add it to the list of best moments from Disney films!

Leave a Reply

