How I Handle Hard Times

I apologize for neglecting the site and for not posting as much fun content as I’d originally planned. Over the last few weeks, I received a string of bad news in various outlets of my life which decimated me emotionally.

Essentially, my mind’s first reaction to challenging times is to shut down completely. Out goes my creativity, motivation, sleep, etc. While working to overcome these obstacles, I began to reflect on the methods I employ to get through difficult patches in life.

So without further ado, here’s how I handle hard times!

Music

I’ve rely on music for every facet of my life. The beauty is there are so many different genres, giving me an endless array of things to listen to depending on my current situation.

Lately, I’ve been listening to a lot of songs that both describe what I’m going through in different ways, while also helping me process and cope with them. One of my recent favorites is The Humbling River by Puscifer. The song is relaxing, somber, and I really love the metaphor for crossing a river in relation to overcoming hardship.

Comedy

Ah, good old-fashioned comedy. The art of comedy is highly subjective, but if you can find something that makes you laugh even if it’s stupid, or strange, or a mixture of both, I say go for it.

Sometimes the best therapy for a bad week is allowing yourself the ability to laugh. Usually I take to YouTube and click around on things I find entertaining. It might take me a while, but I always find something that puts a smile on my face!

A Good Book (or three)

woman-reading-book-drinking-tea-in-bed

If you’re like me and love to read, I find the following method works wonders on a depressing afternoon. First, locate the most comfortable set of pajamas you own. Next, analyze your bed for the ideal reading locale, preferably near a large stack of blankets and pillows.

If you’re a fan of tea, make yourself a cup and set it off to the side within reach. Finally, grab a stack of books and go to town. For me at least, this is pure heaven when I’m feeling stressed. I’d rather explore the lives of fictional characters for an hour… or five.

Pets

16178916_803238649833172_4141122474285325889_o

If you have a cat or dog, you know the endless source of joy they can bring. If not, volunteering at a shelter can help take your mind off things, as can owning an easy pet like a fish or bird.

For me, one way to feel better is to observe the insane antics of my cat. Saitama (or Tama as I call him), loves to snuggle up beside me in bed. Often when I’m reading, as mentioned above. On the flip side, Tama also enjoys getting into trouble.

For example, he has a penchant for climbing into the fridge, licking the bottom of the sink, and scaling me like a tree in an attempt to eat my jacket strings. But hey, even when he’s making me laugh, he’s always there to lend a helping paw.

Gaming

I firmly believe there are video games out there for everyone. Whether you prefer to game on your phone, PC, Xbox One, PlayStation 4, or a combo of all four, gaming can be a great way to distract yourself.

Last year I underwent serious dental surgery, and when I came home, the first thing I did was play ABZU. To be honest, I don’t remember much… other than swimming through the game from beginning to end in one sitting smiling like a buffoon. At least it distracted me from the pain, which was nice.

Or the other day, I found myself laughing at the irony of how I’d chosen to cope with the stress of impending medical appointments. I decided hey, why not switch on my PS4, load GTA V, and drive around aimlessly for two, almost three hours?

It sounds crazy, but gaming really does help take my mind off stress, anxiety, and depression.

These are only some of the ways I cope with difficult periods of time in my life. I definitely want to explore this topic again in the future, and I’m curious as to what methods you guys employ to help get yourself through.

Let me know in the comments, and I look forward to getting back on track with happy posts in the upcoming weeks!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. kwenzqoatl says:

    I listent to music as well and also watch fluffy romance dramas. haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah romance dramas are good too! I’ve binged way too many lol 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

