My Old High School Playlist

Every once in a while, I like to go back and revising my “high school” playlist, which is comprised of songs that played a huge part in defining those three formative years in my life (2004-2007, I graduated early during my junior year).

Anyone who knew me during back then will remember the oversized Tripp pants I always wore, dangly chains and all. Needless to say, I was your standard goth/metalhead loser and I don’t regret a thing.
 photo 100_0233_zps57be3d2e.jpg

Ok fine… I may regret a FEW things. Like that ridiculous jacket/sunglasses combo. Extra points back on the board for one-strapping it, though. Two straps are for weaklings!

Moving on before things get even more awkward. For a quick look back, I’ve decided to put together a playlist of some of my favorite high school staples!

American Witch – Rob Zombie

Starting things off right, we have the song I proudly belted out in front of my entire school after being accepted into the high school talent show. I’ll always remember the goth kids in the back cheering me on as everyone else looked horrified.

Dragula – Rob Zombie

Just one more Zombie song, I promise. Fun act, I would have performed Dragula at that talent show but the time limit cap was 3 minutes and 30 seconds. At 3:48 mins, Dragula found itself 18 seconds over that requirement. Oh well!

Stricken – Disturbed

Hard to pick just one Disturbed song when it comes to my high school favorites. I loved both the entire The Sickness album and Ten Thousand Fists from beginning to end. However, Stricken stands out in my mind above the rest for whatever reason.

Before I Forget – Slipknot

It’s always fun to revisit the first song that got you into a band. When it comes to my Slipknot love, that defining song was Before I Forget.

Hypnotize – System of a Down

I got into System of a Down a bit late in the game, unfortunately. The first time I saw them was on MTV’s show, Headbanger’s Ball. This music video came on, and I was instantly hooked.

Redneck – Lamb of God

I came to learn that this song is really fun to headbang to. In fact, I still have a video of me doing just that floating around… ah yes, here it is! Can you believe I did that video almost a decade ago?

My Own Prison – Creed

I first got into Creed waaaaaaay back. I’m talking before middle school back before they became a band everyone rips on. During high school, I remember being thrilled whenever I heard songs like My Sacrifice or Higher on the radio. Although, if I had to pick just one memorable high school-era track, it’s definitely My Own Prison.

Get Born Again – Alice in Chains

I was originally going to put Man in the Box here, but I decided against it at the last minute. It’s true that Man in the Box was the first song I ever learned on guitar. However, I’ve always loved Get Born Again the most. Even to this day, it’s my favorite Alice in Chains song.

3 Libras – A Perfect Circle

This song speaks to me on so many levels. It’s interesting to me how the song’s meaning can change as I get older. It means something totally different to me now than it did back then, and as a result, it’s one of my favorite songs of all time. I think it always will be.

Bring Me to Life – Evanescence

God damn, this song puts me right back into my high school pair of jet black Converse sneakers. Everyone, and I mean everyone, loved Evanescence when I was in high school. To be honest, all of us probably still love it to this day.

Numb – Linkin Park

This song and In The End are about even for me. However, the video reminds me of my high school days in more ways than one. Good and bad. I get a bit sad watching this video now, as this song defined some of the rougher patches during those years.

Animal I Have Become – Three Days Grace

True story, I listened to the One X album by Three Days Grace during my sophomore year every morning as I walked to school. No exaggeration. Even now, I think about the route I walked from my house to school with my guitar slung over my back, the strap digging the crap out of my shoulder.

I have more, but if I continue on, this post will get really long. RIP early 2000s!

Leave a Reply

