Top 13 Most Anticipated Games of 2017

I’ve wanted to do an article like this for a while, but because most of these titles are AAA (and I primarily write about indie games) I’ve held off. If you want to check out my professional pieces on indie games, you can find me at Indie Obscura.

Today, as the title of this piece suggests, I’ve put together a consolidated list of 13 games I cannot wait to play. I feel like this year has a really strong release calendar, and I’m still trying to figure out how I’ll set aside the time for all of these.

Without further ado, here are the top 13 most anticipated games of 2017!

13) Outlast 2

Oh man, I’m still too cowardly to finish the original Outlast. I played the demo for Outlast 2, and I’m both excited and terrified for the full release. One thing’s for certain, it’s going to cause many sleepless nights.

Release: Q1 2017.

12) Tacoma

Tacoma is an interesting little space game that focuses in on solving the mystery of what happened to the station’s missing crew. Although the team at E3 2016 stated that the AI is nothing like HAL from 2001: A Space Odyssey, I can’t help but feel a little wary.

Release: TBA 2017.

11) Cuphead

Cuphead has some of the coolest art I’ve ever seen in a game. Although it’s said to be an extremely difficult platformer (and I absolutely suck at platformers), I’m really looking forward to its release.

Release: TBA 2017.

10) Absolver

Absolver is a martial arts fighting game that looks to offer a singularly different experience from other fighting games. I feel the game’s immersion value in and of itself sets it high up on the list of games to keep your eye on this year.

Release: TBA 2017.

9) Mass Effect: Andromeda

Who isn’t excited for Mass Effect: Andromeda? I have a tad bit of hesitation, hoping that it lives up to its phenomenal trifecta of predecessors. However, if those three previous games are any indication, Andromeda is going to take the gaming world by storm.

Release: March 21st, 2017

8) Red Dead Redemption 2

After binge-watching Westworld, I realized that gamers don’t exactly have a decent selection of western titles. In my head, I can only think of one tried-and-true staple, Red Dead Redemption. You can imagine my excitement when a sequel was announced.

Release: Fall 2017

7) Horizon Zero Dawn

Aside from the fact that I need to cosplay protagonist Aloy at some point this year (we look eerily alike), the game looks like a cool mesh of my favorite themes. With a promising story, and a badass heroine, I cannot wait to get my hands on Horizon Zero Dawn.

Release: February 28th, 2017

6) For Honor

Anyone who knows me has heard about my addiction to Chivalry Medieval Warfare. So, it makes sense that I’d be excited about For Honor. After all, it’s coming out on Valentine’s Day. Careful, the game may just steal your girl after it empties your wallet!

Release: February 14th, 2017

5) Yooka-Laylee

My childhood, the guys from RARE are back with an adorable, colorful adventure between a chameleon and a bat. Seriously, this game is my childhood in a nice, neat little package and I’m head over heels in love with it.

Release: April 11th, 2017

4) Super Mario Odyssey

After the Nintendo Switch Presentation, I realized that Super Mario Odyssey may wind up being my favorite Mario game after Six Golden Coins and Super Mario World.

Release: Winter 2017

3) Vampyr

It may seem strange that I’ve placed Vampyr so high on this list, but you have to understand, it’s a blend of my favorite things. It’s dark, gothic, feels like a Poe-inspired tale, and is by the same company who made Life is Strange.

Release: TBA 2017

2) The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

Let me start by saying that the trailer for Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild is hands-down one of the best video game trailers I’ve ever seen. The world looks gorgeous, and c’mon, it’s open world Zelda!

Release: March 3rd, 2017

1) Prey

Good morning, Morgan. God damn it Bethesda, you have a magical way of draining me of cash. Prey looks gritty, intriguing, and you know… I’m also Morgan so there’s a little bias there. Prey is going to suck a lot of life hours out of me, and I’ve got no complaints.

Release: TBA 2017

Those are my top 13 most anticipated games of 2017. What games are you looking forward to this year? Let me know!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. It’s hard to argue with this list. For me I could never forget Nier Automata or Persona 5, both coming in March! The early part of this year is looking bright for new releases!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah yeah good point. I’m really looking forward to Nier (sad that Scalebound was cancelled though). Persona 5 looks great as well. I’d definitely add those two, top 15 games lol. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jsebastian says:

    Great list Morgan, do you ever share your work on any video game sites too?

    Like

    1. Yes, I write for IndieObscura.com and occasionally Prima Games as well! 🙂

      Like

      1. jsebastian says:

        Would you be interested in sharing some of your work on nowloading.co? I’m actually a community manager here for the site, and if you’d like to increase your readership I’d love to bring you on board!

        Like

Leave a comment